Tuesday, April 2, 2013


1. What were you doing 10 years ago?

In 2003 I was a stay at home mom.  I had 3 kids in school; 2 of them involved in multiple sports and another involved in volunteer activities.  The twins had their learner's permits and wanted to practice driving all the time.  Hilda, our little dachshund was still alive then, too.

We owned our own home, about 3000 square feet I kept clean and maintained. I had a very large vegetable garden and had just started making mosaics as a hobby. 

 It was the last year I got to be a full time homemaker before Tom started his law practice in our garage and I went out into the world of low paying work.

2.  What 5 things are on your to-do list?

I need to buy a new lock for the gym because Ally accidentally took mine with her when she went back to school. 

A pedicure. 

There are 3 bags and a box of donation items that need to make it to the curb tonight. 

The taxes are almost done but I need to print them out for Tom to review.

My sewing machine needs to go in for service.

3. What are 5 snacks do you enjoy?

I have to maintain a low carb diet:

Roasted almonds
Sunflower seeds
Dark Chocolate covered Almonds (sugar free)
Pink Grapefruit sections
Celery stuffed with peanut butter

4. Name some things you would do if you were a millionaire:

A million isn't much money anymore, so if I only had 1 million -  I would pay off the student loans and our tax debt, buy a house, quit my job and bank anything left over to pay for my health care benefits which is the only reason I work.

If I was bringing in a million or more a year - all the above plus the long desired trip to France with Tom,  decorating our house, paying for grad school for the kids, buy Tom a new car and a custom bicycle, plastic surgery after I reach my weight loss goals and repay my friend who paid for my surgery.

5. Name some places you have lived:

I was born in Moscow, ID and lived in Boise while my dad was away in Korea.  When he came home, I grew up in Stockton and Walnut Creek here in CA.  I lived in San Diego through school (except for 1 semester in Washington DC where I had an internship) and grad school, then moved to Oakland where we lived until we bought our first home in Benicia.  We moved to Bellevue, WA and lived there for 5 years, then back to the Bay Area to Pleasanton where we live now.

6. Name some bad habits you have:

Procrastination in a few areas including keeping up scrapbooks - I am about 10 years behind.  I occasionally don't pay bills on time which costs me a lot of money and trouble.  I make too much food and then have to throw it away - I need to get used to the empty nest.

7. Name some jobs you have had:

As a student I did lots of things like address envelopes for mass mailings and telephone soliciting; I have worked in and managed student dorms,  restaurants, the library and as a research assistant. My most interesting job in those years was answering phones for an "escort service."

After graduations I was a restaurant manager and did legal compliance and  marketing for a nutritional supplements company. 

Now I have crap jobs because I am over 50 and spent 16 years home with kids and I know I am lucky to even have crap jobs which offer health insurance!

If you are suffering from a lack of inspiration - steal this prompt!


Gary's third pottery blog said...

You said it, ALMONDS! Yum! And I know about the crap jobs and healthcare, and you do hope things improve on that front after Jan.1, 2014!

Karen (formerly kcinnova) said...

You were born in Moscow? We have relatives in Troy and my 2 sons and 1 daughter-in-law attend WSU in Pullman!
(I also have family in Bellevue, but few people have even heard of Moscow, ID!)